NASA Astronauts Awarded Congressional Medal


Close-up of the New Frontier Congressional Gold Medal (Credits: NASA).

The United States Congress awarded astronauts John Glenn, Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin, and Michael Collins the New Frontier Congressional Medal on November 16. The medal was created in 2009 to honor of the 40th anniversary of the Apollo 11 landing.

 “We stand on the shoulders of the extraordinary men we recognize today,” said NASA Administrator Charles Bolden at the ceremony. “Those of us who have had the privilege to fly in space followed the trail they forged.” 

John Glenn has been an honorary member of IAASS since 2006.

 Below is a record of Neil Armstrong’s remarks from the awards ceremony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *