Proton Rocket Launched from Baikonour

A Proton rocket during liftoff (Credits: Roscosmos).

A Proton-M rocket carying a military spacecraft has been launched on September 21, 2011, from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan. The launch took place at 2:47 Moscow time (22:47 GMT Tuesday), as scheduled.

“The spacecraft is scheduled to separate from the Briz-M booster at 11:48 Moscow time [7:48 GMT],” said Col. Alexei Zolotukhin, Russian Space Forces spokesman.

This is the first Proton launch following the failure of August 18, when a similar rocket failed to place the Express-AM4 satellite into the designed orbit. Just a week later, Russia experienced the failure of a Soyuz rocket, during the launch of a Progress spacecraft. After having identified the cause of the failures, Roscosmos have resumed both Proton and Soyuz launches. According to NASA, the next ISS increment will be launched with a Soyuz rocket on November 14, 2011.

 

Tags

About the author

Andrea Gini

Facebook Email Website

Andrea Gini is a content strategy consultant specialized in companies of the space sector. He is founder of Space Safety Magazine, where he held the position of Editor-in-Chief until March 2015. Between 2011 and 2013 he worked in the European Space Agency in the Independent Safety Office, which overviews the utilization of the International Space Station. He previously worked as Software Developer, IT Consultant, and trainer of Java-related technologies. Andrea holds a BSc and an MSc in computer science from the University of Milano, a Master in Communication of Science from the International School for Advanced Studies of Trieste and a MSc in Space Studies from the International Space University.